How to Use the Jamie is Jamie Series at Home and in the Classroom

While each title in the series has its specific focus, the entire series focuses on celebrating children as individuals, creating inclusive spaces where children feel respected, and using communication to validate the feelings, preferences, and identities of each child.

The first Jamie book opens up important conversations about what it means to be a boy or a girl when it comes to play. It’s a fantastic opportunity for kids to learn and adults to remember that toys and games don’t have gender and that every child has the right to play, create, and develop their imaginations. 

When the kids in the story question Jamie’s gender based on what Jamie wants to play, it creates openings for asking the kids in your life what they think. Do they think dolls are for girls and cars are for boys? 

You’ll be surprised at the reactions and insights that children will share with you when you stop and ask questions while you read the book out loud. 

The second Jamie book takes openness about gender identity to a different level. We all use pronouns without thinking about it and this book provides a chance for children and adults to consider pronouns on a different level. 

Jamie and Bubbie

Since using the wrong pronoun is hurtful and denigrating to others, Jamie and Bubbie, provides the vocabulary and wording to communicate how to use the singular they instead of making assumptions and staying open to the fact that pronouns and names can change.   

The book shows how to handle mistakes gracefully and how to stay respectful to others while learning how to use the singular they and shifting away from using gendered assumptions to assign pronouns to others. 

The third Jamie book is all about creating pathways for open and honest communication between children and their adults. The story shows young children that they aren’t the only ones who have to deal with their adults making decisions concerning them that aren’t consistent with who they are and what they like. 

The story shows how kids can share their thoughts and feelings with adults without fear of upsetting their adults or getting in trouble. The story also models how adults can listen and hear young children with an open mind and make changes that take into account the thoughts, feelings, and wishes of their kids. It’s an example of how to create mutually respectful communication that sometimes includes an apology. 

There are so many different ways to use these books from discussion questions to hands-on activities. Each time you read one of the Jamie books to the children in your life, there may be one aspect you’d like to focus on at that moment. 

How do you know what to ask and what activities to do? You can use the free downloadable Teachers’/ Leaders’ Guide. Use what’s included or take inspiration from it to develop questions that are geared towards the individual needs of the kids in your life or other activities. 

If you do come up with your own questions or activities, please share in the comments so we can all have even more ways to use the Jamie is Jamie series in our homes and classrooms!

Please follow and like me:
Pin Share

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.